Show Notes - The Corporations Are People!

Episode:

#50

Title:

The Corporations Are People! (The myths and misconceptions of corporate personhood)

Summary:

Today on Legalese, we will be talking about the myths and misconceptions of corporate personhood, based on a topic request/question from a subscriber on YouTube in my past episode The Originalist Privileges and Immunities Clause.

@GG-ud1ib Asked the following question:

This was a great question that gave me the opportunity to explore a number of interesting and esoteric ideas from the difference between natural persons and legal persons, as well as the difference between natural rights and legal rights.

We also discuss the meaning and purpose of the doctrine of corporate personhood. A doctrine that recognizes corporations as legal entities - that may act as a single, fictional person. As well as why corporations are granted some legal rights.

We look at how the expression of forms, structure and powers of corporations. Especially the description of the famous common law jurist Sir William Blackstone in his legal treatise Commentaries on the Common Laws of England.

This further elucidates the error in assumptions that the term “corporation” refers exclusively to large, private for-profit companies. As well as the reasons why corporations and corporate personhood are beneficial to not only the corporation itself, but to society at large.

Finally, we discuss why, regardless of what many people believe, corporate personhood does not:

Opens the floodgates to corporate influence in politics and government from both domestic and foreign corporations…


Sources:


My Past Episodes


Show Links

Homepage

Find out more about me, the show, get in contact, follow my blog, see archive of all my content, follow me on social media, buy my book, support the show

Newsletter Sign Up

Takes you to my Substack newsletter page where you can find archives of my articles, videos and audio podcast collection.

You can also subscribe to receive notifications whenever I post any new content. Or get curated content notifications (do you just like reading my article, or just like watching my videos? Now you can pick and choose what content you get notifications for. Pretty spiffy, huh?